Last updated · School-system scope: 156 operating public elementary and secondary school districts (NCES, 2023–24) · NCES CCD Table 2 — Number of operating public elementary and secondary schools and districts, 2023–24
Alabama school bus driver pay by employer
Compare official employer pay disclosures in Alabama. Each listing identifies the employer type and keeps the source's stated rate, pay period, and caveats intact.
No statewide benchmark shown
No official Alabama statewide wage benchmark for school bus drivers was verified for this file; no substitute estimate is used.
Employer pay sources
The first listed pay sources for Alabama are not a complete statewide census. Each employer row keeps the pay wording and period from its own source; check the source before applying.
| Employer | Pay as stated by source | Locality and period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Florence 1 Schools | Starting salary of $17.59 per hour Starting hourly pay | Lauderdale County Recruitment for the 2026–2027 school year; exact publication/effective date not exposed in the opened post. | Florence 1 Schools Human Resources — bus-driver recruitment video for 2026–2027 |
| Madison County Schools | STARTING SALARY (5/8/2024) - $18k Starting salary; unit not stated | Madison County The source caption includes 5/8/2024; it does not state an effective window or pay period. | Become a Bus Driver — Madison County Schools |
| Lawrence County Schools | REGULAR/ SPECIAL NEEDS ROUTES - 182 DAYS (BD-N); Annual: $16,568 (0<3 completed years) to $20,081 (30+ completed years) Annual experience-based schedule | Lawrence County 2026–2027 salary schedule; Regular/Special Needs Routes are listed as 182 days. | 2026–2027 Salary Schedule — Lawrence County Schools |
How the figures are collected
| Employer sources | Official employer salary schedules or recruiting pages, including public-school contractors identified by employer type; social recruitment posts are labeled and their exact post date is shown as unavailable when not exposed. |
|---|---|
| Pay period | Shown as the employer states it. “Not stated” means the cited source did not provide an effective date or year. |
| ZIP lookup | ZIP-to-county suggestions currently cover South Carolina, North Carolina, and Georgia. Search Alabama by employer, county, or locality. |
Sources
- ✓ Official source NCES CCD Table 2 — Number of operating public elementary and secondary schools and districts, 2023–24 · checked Oct 31, 2026
- ✓ Official source Florence 1 Schools Human Resources — bus-driver recruitment video for 2026–2027 · checked Oct 31, 2026
- ✓ Official source Become a Bus Driver — Madison County Schools · checked Oct 31, 2026
- ✓ Official source 2026–2027 Salary Schedule — Lawrence County Schools · checked Oct 31, 2026
- ✓ Official source Salary Schedule — Lawrence County Schools · checked Oct 31, 2026
Common questions
Is the Alabama sample complete statewide coverage?
Initial source-backed sample only: 3 employers compared with NCES's 156 operating public districts in 2023–24. This is not complete statewide coverage.
Are employer hourly rates and BLS annual wages directly comparable?
No. Employer rates are shown as the cited source states them. Statewide OEWS annual estimates are context and are not a promised district route schedule.
Why might a source have no pay year?
Some recruiting pages display a rate without an effective date. The page labels that limitation and shows when the source was checked.
All employer pay listings · Side-by-side comparison · Split-shift calculator
