Last updated · School-system scope: 165 operating public elementary and secondary school districts (SY 2024–25; districts providing services at the start of the school year) · NCES Table 2: Number of operating public elementary and secondary schools and districts, by state or jurisdiction: School year 2024–25
South Dakota school bus driver pay by employer
Compare official employer pay disclosures in South Dakota. Each listing identifies the employer type and keeps the source's stated rate, pay period, and caveats intact.
No statewide benchmark shown
No statewide wage benchmark was researched for this fast-starter rollout.
Employer pay sources
The first listed pay sources for South Dakota are not a complete statewide census. Each employer row keeps the pay wording and period from its own source; check the source before applying.
| Employer | Pay as stated by source | Locality and period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| West Central School District 49-7 | Salary Range $31.25 - $31.25 / Per Hour Listed hourly pay | Minnehaha County Applications accepted beginning July 21, 2026; effective pay date not stated by the source. | West Central School District — Bus Driver |
How the figures are collected
| Employer sources | Official employer salary schedules or recruiting pages, including public-school contractors identified by employer type; social recruitment posts are labeled and their exact post date is shown as unavailable when not exposed. |
|---|---|
| Pay period | Shown as the employer states it. “Not stated” means the cited source did not provide an effective date or year. |
| ZIP lookup | ZIP-to-county suggestions currently cover South Carolina, North Carolina, and Georgia. Search South Dakota by employer, county, or locality. |
Sources
- ✓ Official source NCES Table 2: Number of operating public elementary and secondary schools and districts, by state or jurisdiction: School year 2024–25 · checked Nov 1, 2026
- ✓ Official source West Central School District — Bus Driver · checked Nov 1, 2026
- ✓ Official source West Central School District 49-7 · checked Nov 1, 2026
Common questions
Is the South Dakota sample complete statewide coverage?
One sourced employer is an incomplete starter sample: 1 of 165 operating public elementary and secondary school districts in NCES SY 2024–25.
Are employer hourly rates and BLS annual wages directly comparable?
No. Employer rates are shown as the cited source states them. Statewide OEWS annual estimates are context and are not a promised district route schedule.
Why might a source have no pay year?
Some recruiting pages display a rate without an effective date. The page labels that limitation and shows when the source was checked.
All employer pay listings · Side-by-side comparison · Split-shift calculator
