Last updated · School-system scope: 1232 operating public elementary and secondary school districts (school year 2023–24) · NCES Table 2: Number of operating public elementary and secondary schools and districts, student membership, teachers, and pupil/teacher ratio, by state or jurisdiction: School year 2023–24
Texas school bus driver pay by employer
Compare official employer pay disclosures in Texas. Each listing identifies the employer type and keeps the source's stated rate, pay period, and caveats intact.
No statewide benchmark shown
No statewide wage benchmark researched for this fast-starter rollout.
Employer pay sources
The first listed pay sources for Texas are not a complete statewide census. Each employer row keeps the pay wording and period from its own source; check the source before applying.
| Employer | Pay as stated by source | Locality and period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Silsbee Independent School District | $17.49/hour (Step 0) to $36.22/hour (Step 30) Hourly pay schedule | Hardin County 2026-2027 pay schedule; the document displays 8/31/2026 without labeling it as an effective or publication date. | 2026-2027 Bus Drivers Pay Schedules |
| Houston Independent School District | $30.00 per hour (morning or afternoon drivers); $35.00 (both runs) Fixed hourly rate | Harris County 2026-27 plan; checked November 3, 2026. | 2026-2027 Compensation Plan — Houston ISD |
| Cypress-Fairbanks Independent School District | $23.46 per hour starting pay Starting hourly pay | Harris County Effective date not stated; checked November 3, 2026. | Apply to be a Bus Driver — Cypress-Fairbanks ISD |
| Katy Independent School District | $20.18 per hour starting rate (pay grade A05, $18.35–$24.63) Starting hourly pay | Harris County 2026-27 plan; checked November 3, 2026. | Compensation and Benefits Plan 2026-27 — Katy ISD |
| Aldine Independent School District | $20.00 per hour starting pay for drivers Starting hourly pay | Harris County Effective date not stated; checked November 3, 2026. | Career Opportunities — Aldine ISD Transportation |
| Fort Worth Independent School District | $22.75–$32.73 per hour (grade BD, 183 days) Hourly range by pay grade | Tarrant County 2026-27 manual; checked November 3, 2026. | 2026-2027 FWISD Compensation Manual — Fort Worth ISD |
| Arlington Independent School District | $24.97 per hour starting pay (CDL drivers); $18.25 non-CDL Starting hourly pay | Tarrant County Listed as current pay; effective date not stated. Checked November 3, 2026. | Transportation — Arlington ISD |
| Garland Independent School District | $25.25 per hour starting pay (2026-27) Starting hourly pay | Dallas County 2026-27; checked November 3, 2026. | 2026-2027 Compensation Updates — Garland ISD |
| North East Independent School District | $17.64–$20.40 per hour minimum starting wage, by prior bus-driving experience Starting hourly range | Bexar County Effective date not stated; checked November 3, 2026. | Jobs, Applications, Hiring — NEISD Transportation |
| Austin Independent School District | $25.50 per hour starting pay (October 2026) Starting hourly pay | Travis County Posted October 2, 2026; checked November 3, 2026. | Austin ISD hosts classified staff hiring event |
| Pflugerville Independent School District | $23.75–$32.81 per hour (grade BD; 6-hour day, 180 days) Hourly range by pay grade | Travis County 2026-27 plan; checked November 3, 2026. | 2026-2027 Auxiliary Compensation Plan — Pflugerville ISD |
| Conroe Independent School District | $20.00 per hour minimum (Bus Driver 1) Minimum hourly rate | Montgomery County Posting live when checked November 3, 2026. | Bus Driver posting 00017377 — Conroe ISD jobs |
How the figures are collected
| Employer sources | Official employer salary schedules or recruiting pages, including public-school contractors identified by employer type; social recruitment posts are labeled and their exact post date is shown as unavailable when not exposed. |
|---|---|
| Pay period | Shown as the employer states it. “Not stated” means the cited source did not provide an effective date or year. |
| ZIP lookup | ZIP-to-county suggestions currently cover South Carolina, North Carolina, and Georgia. Search Texas by employer, county, or locality. |
Sources
- ✓ Official source NCES Table 2: Number of operating public elementary and secondary schools and districts, student membership, teachers, and pupil/teacher ratio, by state or jurisdiction: School year 2023–24 · checked Nov 3, 2026
- ✓ Official source 2026-2027 Bus Drivers Pay Schedules · checked Nov 3, 2026
- ✓ Official source 2026-2027 Compensation Plan — Houston ISD · checked Nov 3, 2026
- ✓ Official source Apply to be a Bus Driver — Cypress-Fairbanks ISD · checked Nov 3, 2026
- ✓ Official source Compensation and Benefits Plan 2026-27 — Katy ISD · checked Nov 3, 2026
- ✓ Official source Career Opportunities — Aldine ISD Transportation · checked Nov 3, 2026
- ✓ Official source 2026-2027 FWISD Compensation Manual — Fort Worth ISD · checked Nov 3, 2026
- ✓ Official source Transportation — Arlington ISD · checked Nov 3, 2026
- ✓ Official source 2026-2027 Compensation Updates — Garland ISD · checked Nov 3, 2026
- ✓ Official source Jobs, Applications, Hiring — NEISD Transportation · checked Nov 3, 2026
- ✓ Official source Austin ISD hosts classified staff hiring event · checked Nov 3, 2026
- ✓ Official source 2026-2027 Auxiliary Compensation Plan — Pflugerville ISD · checked Nov 3, 2026
- ✓ Official source Bus Driver posting 00017377 — Conroe ISD jobs · checked Nov 3, 2026
Texas counties
Common questions
Is the Texas sample complete statewide coverage?
Source-backed partial coverage: 12 employers compared with 1232 operating public elementary and secondary school districts (school year 2023–24). This is not complete statewide coverage.
Are employer hourly rates and BLS annual wages directly comparable?
No. Employer rates are shown as the cited source states them. Statewide OEWS annual estimates are context and are not a promised district route schedule.
Why might a source have no pay year?
Some recruiting pages display a rate without an effective date. The page labels that limitation and shows when the source was checked.
All employer pay listings · Side-by-side comparison · Split-shift calculator
