Last updated · Sources: BLS OEWS May 2025, South Carolina certification rules: SCDE School Bus Drivers page, South Carolina certification rules: SCDE SY2025-26 Driver Pay Scale memo, South Carolina certification rules: SCDE School Bus Driver Training Handbook, each employer's source, linked in the tables below
South Carolina school bus driver pay by district
About 5,900 school bus drivers work in South Carolina. The middle (median) driver earns $19.18/hr ($39,900/yr), according to the BLS. Below, 74 districts and bus companies are ranked by their own published starting pay.
Find your South Carolina district
Start typing for suggestions. Zip lookup covers SC, NC and GA, using Census zip-to-county data.
Districts ranked by starting pay
- $23.69/hr to start · top $32.66/hr — Cherokee County School District (Cherokee County · 2025-26)
- $23.41/hr to start · top $25.90/hr — Greenville County Schools (Greenville County · 2026-27)
- $23.00/hr to start · top $34.73/hr — Charleston County School District (Charleston County · 2026-27)
- $22.75/hr to start · top $33.08/hr — First Student — Charleston area (N. Charleston, Mt. Pleasant, Johns Island) (Charleston County · 2026)
- $22.70/hr to start · top $39.60/hr — Fort Mill School District 4 (York County · 2026-27)
- $21.02/hr to start · top $31.47/hr — Richland School District Two (Richland County · 2026-27)
- $20.53/hr to start · top $27.13/hr — Chester County School District (Chester County · 2026-27)
- $20.47/hr to start — Lexington County School District One (Lexington County · 2025-26)
- $20.29/hr to start · top $32.85/hr — Rock Hill Schools (York County · 2025-26)
- $20.10/hr to start · top $31.13/hr — Aiken County Public Schools (Aiken County · 2025-26)
- $20.04/hr to start · top $30.72/hr — Spartanburg School District Six (Spartanburg County · posting (start date 08/26/2025, rate updated))
- $20.00/hr to start · top $28.00/hr — Dorchester School District Four (Dorchester County · current posting)
- $19.99/hr to start · top $32.46/hr — York School District One (York County · 2025-26)
- $19.83/hr to start · top $32.81/hr — Lexington School District Two (Lexington County · 2025-26 (latest bus driver schedule posted))
- $19.82/hr to start · top $30.75/hr — Spartanburg School District Five (Spartanburg County · 2026-27)
- $19.71/hr to start — Anderson School District 5 (Anderson County · current page (undated))
- $19.67/hr to start · top $34.82/hr — Beaufort County School District (Beaufort County · 2025-26)
- $19.66/hr to start · top $34.21/hr — Lancaster County School District (Lancaster County · 2025-26 (FY26 schedule, latest posted))
- $19.51/hr to start · top $32.24/hr — Horry County Schools (Horry County · 2026-27)
- $19.36/hr to start · top $35.79/hr — Berkeley County School District (Berkeley County · 2026-27 (posting))
- $19.32/hr to start · top $28.36/hr — Anderson School District 1 (Anderson County · 2026-27)
- $19.28/hr to start · top $29.29/hr — Fairfield County School District (Fairfield County · 2025-26)
- $19.17/hr to start · top $30.30/hr — Lexington School District Four (Lexington County · 2026-27)
- $19.02/hr to start — Darlington County School District (Darlington County · 2026-27 (posting))
- $19.00/hr to start · top $30.50/hr — Greenwood School District 50 (Greenwood County · 2026-27)
- $18.94/hr to start · top $24.19/hr — Orangeburg County School District (Orangeburg County · 2026-27 (posting))
- $18.86/hr to start — Spartanburg County School District Two (Spartanburg County · 2026-27)
- $18.82/hr to start · top $26.16/hr — Spartanburg School District Three (Spartanburg County · 2026-27)
- $18.79/hr to start — Spartanburg School District One (Spartanburg County · 2026)
- $18.73/hr to start — Sumter School District (Sumter County · current posting)
- $18.22/hr to start · top $28.19/hr — Lexington-Richland School District Five (Lexington County · 2026-27)
- $18.19/hr to start · top $25.69/hr — Spartanburg School District Seven (Spartanburg County · 2026-27)
- $18.00/hr to start · top $32.80/hr — Clover School District (York County · 2022-23 (latest posted))
- $17.98/hr to start — Kershaw County School District (Kershaw County · 2025-26)
- $16.84/hr to start · top $21.94/hr — Edgefield County School District (Edgefield County · 2025-26)
- $16.33/hr to start · top $27.76/hr — Lexington County School District Three (Lexington County · 2026-27)
- $15.31/hr to start · top $21.91/hr — Chesterfield County School District (Chesterfield County · 2026-27)
- $15.03/hr to start — Williamsburg County School District (Williamsburg County · current flyer (undated))
- not published — Richland School District One (Richland County)
- not published — Spartanburg County School District Four (Spartanburg County)
- not published — Dorchester School District Two (Dorchester County)
- not published — School District of Pickens County (Pickens County)
- not published — Florence 1 Schools (Florence County)
- not published — School District of Oconee County (Oconee County)
- not published — Georgetown County School District (Georgetown County)
- not published — School District of Newberry County (Newberry County)
- not published — Laurens County School District 55 (Laurens County)
- not published — Colleton County School District (Colleton County)
- not published — Clarendon County School District (Clarendon County)
- not published — Dillon School District Four (Dillon County)
- not published — Marion County School District (Marion County)
- not published — Union County Schools (Union County)
- not published — Marlboro County School District (Marlboro County)
- not published — Anderson School District 2 (Anderson County)
- not published — Anderson School District 4 (Anderson County)
- not published — Florence County School District 3 (Florence County)
- not published — Abbeville County School District (Abbeville County)
- not published — Anderson School District 3 (Anderson County)
- not published — Laurens County School District 56 (Laurens County)
- not published — Jasper County School District (Jasper County)
- not published — Saluda County School District (Saluda County)
- not published — Hampton County School District (Hampton County)
- not published — Barnwell County School District (Barnwell County)
- not published — Bamberg County School District (Bamberg County)
- not published — Calhoun County Public Schools (Calhoun County)
- not published — Dillon School District Three (Dillon County)
- not published — Greenwood School District 52 (Greenwood County)
- not published — Lee County School District (Lee County)
- not published — Florence School District Five (Florence County)
- not published — Williston School District 29 (Barnwell 48) (Barnwell County)
- not published — Florence County School District 2 (Florence County)
- not published — Allendale County School District (Allendale County)
- not published — Ware Shoals School District 51 (Greenwood County)
- not published — McCormick County School District (McCormick County)
Pay range statewide (BLS, May 2025)
| Bottom 10% | 25% | Median | 75% | Top 10% | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hourly | $11.37 | $14.46 | $19.18 | $22.45 | $27.48 |
| Yearly | $23,640 | $30,070 | $39,900 | $46,700 | $57,150 |
Compare by county
Full details for every South Carolina employer
| Employer | Start $/hr | Top $/hr | Sign-on bonus | Paid CDL training | Guaranteed hours | Summer pay | Pay year / notes | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fort Mill School District 4 York County (Fort Mill), SC · York County · District |
$22.70 | $39.60 | not stated | Yes | not stated Shifts 6–9 AM and 1:45–4:45 PM; 180 contract days | Year-round pay advertised | 2026-27 Paid training once you are eligible to drive. | 2026-27 salary schedule Now hiring page checked 2026-10-30 |
| Rock Hill Schools York County (Rock Hill), SC · York County · District |
$20.29 | $32.85 | not stated | Yes | not stated | not stated | 2025-26 "Free CDL training." Steps require 152+ days of driving per year. | FY2025-26 salary schedule Drive With Us page checked 2026-10-30 |
| Clover School District York County (Clover), SC · York County · District |
$18.00 | $32.80 | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2022-23 (latest posted) Latest scale we found is dated 11/11/2022 — likely out of date. | Bus driver salary scale (2022-23) checked 2026-10-30 |
| York School District One York County (York), SC · York County · District |
$19.99 | $32.46 | not stated | not stated | not stated 182 days | not stated | 2025-26 | 2025-26 salary schedule checked 2026-10-30 |
| Greenville County Schools Greenville County, SC · Greenville County · District |
$23.41 | $25.90 | not stated | not stated | not stated Full-time = 30+ hrs/week | not stated | 2026-27 Range as reported for an Oct 2026 job fair. | Greenville.com job fair article (third-party news) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Charleston County School District Charleston County, SC · Charleston County · District |
$23.00 | $34.73 | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2026-27 Figures quoted by a district official in Aug 2026 news; top rate after 7 years. | Live 5 News (third-party news) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Richland School District Two Richland County (Columbia NE), SC · Richland County · District |
$21.02 | $31.47 | $1,500 sign-on | not stated | not stated 183 days, 7 hours a day | not stated | 2026-27 Title is Student Transportation Specialist. Activity runs pay $25.00/hr and up. Steps 0–27; a step needs 152 days worked. | 2026-27 Student Transportation Specialist (bus) salary schedule WIS-TV (third-party news) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Richland School District One Richland County (Columbia), SC · Richland County · District |
not published | not published | Up to $2,000 sign-on | Yes | 30 hrs/week | not stated | 2026-27 Not published: the driver hourly rate isn't posted (paid training is $20.16/hr). Sign-on: up to $1,000 with no experience, up to $1,500 with experience and a CDL, up to $2,000 with Class B or higher and P/S endorsements. Up to $1,000 more for no accidents and perfect attendance. | Career opportunities page Classified incentives page checked 2026-10-30 |
| Lexington County School District One Lexington County, SC · Lexington County · District |
$20.47 | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2025-26 | FY2025-26 bus driver salary schedule checked 2026-10-30 |
| First Student — Charleston area (N. Charleston, Mt. Pleasant, Johns Island) Charleston area, SC · Charleston County · Contractor |
$22.75 | $33.08 | $500 permit (CLP) bonus within 7 days; $200 within 14 | Yes | 6 hrs/day | not stated | 2026 | First Student posting JR13912 (N CHARLESTON, SC) First Student posting JR15928 (MT. PLEASANT, SC) First Student posting JR15932 (JOHNS ISLAND, SC) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Lexington-Richland School District Five Lexington & Richland Counties (Irmo/Chapin), SC · Lexington County · District |
$18.22 | $28.19 | not stated | Yes | not stated 180 days | not stated | 2026-27 Spans Lexington and Richland counties. "Training Provided." | District Five job board checked 2026-10-30 |
| Spartanburg School District One Spartanburg County (Campobello/Inman), SC · Spartanburg County · District |
$18.79 | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2026 Pay "commensurate with experience"; full- or part-time. | District One posting (School Bus Driver 2026) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Spartanburg County School District Two Spartanburg County (Chesnee/Boiling Springs), SC · Spartanburg County · District |
$18.86 | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2026-27 Credit for experience. | "Drive for D2" district article (July 22, 2026) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Spartanburg School District Five Spartanburg County (Duncan/Wellford), SC · Spartanburg County · District |
$19.82 | $30.75 | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2026-27 From a third-party copy of the district schedule. | SalarySchedule.org copy of FY2026-27 bus driver schedule (third-party) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Spartanburg School District Six Spartanburg County (Roebuck/Dorman), SC · Spartanburg County · District |
$20.04 | $30.72 | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | posting (start date 08/26/2025, rate updated) | District Six bus driver posting checked 2026-10-30 |
| Lexington School District Two Lexington County (West Columbia/Cayce), SC · Lexington County · District |
$19.83 | $32.81 | not stated | Yes | not stated | not stated | 2025-26 (latest bus driver schedule posted) Credit for previous commercial driving and military experience can raise starting pay. Schedule runs 0–25 years. | FY 2025-26 bus driver salary schedule (scanned PDF) Bus driver job openings page checked 2026-10-30 |
| Lexington County School District Three Lexington County (Batesburg-Leesville), SC · Lexington County · District |
$16.33 | $27.76 | not stated | not stated | not stated Hours set by the transportation director; 180 days | not stated | 2026-27 Schedule raised 2% over 2025-26. Steps 0–30. | 2026-27 bus driver salary schedule checked 2026-10-30 |
| Lexington School District Four Lexington County (Swansea/Gaston), SC · Lexington County · District |
$19.17 | $30.30 | not stated | not stated | not stated 183 days, 5–8 hours a day | not stated | 2026-27 Steps 0–27. | 2026-27 bus driver salary schedule (linked from lex4.org salary schedules page) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Spartanburg School District Three Spartanburg County (Glendale/Cowpens/Pacolet), SC · Spartanburg County · District |
$18.82 | $26.16 | not stated | not stated | not stated 180 days | not stated | 2026-27 Steps 0–28. | Bus Driver 2026-27 salary schedule (from spartanburg3.org salary schedules page) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Spartanburg County School District Four Spartanburg County (Woodruff), SC · Spartanburg County · District |
not published | not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | posting (start date 08/10/2026) Not published: the posting says pay is "based on the district salary scale," and we could not find that scale online. | District Four bus driver posting (full-time) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Spartanburg School District Seven Spartanburg County (City of Spartanburg), SC · Spartanburg County · District |
$18.19 | $25.69 | not stated | Yes | not stated | not stated | 2026-27 CDL application fee waived. Most positions qualify for full-time benefits and a performance bonus (amount not stated). Steps 0–23. | FY26-27 transportation salary schedule Drive a Bus page checked 2026-10-30 |
| Lancaster County School District Lancaster County (Lancaster/Indian Land/Kershaw), SC · Lancaster County · District |
$19.66 | $34.21 | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2025-26 (FY26 schedule, latest posted) Bus Driver/Coordinator/Trainer grade. A separate "Bus Opt out" row starts at $22.16. Bus coordinators get +$1.00/hr for coordinator hours. | Approved FY26 hourly salary schedule (June 3, 2025) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Chester County School District Chester County (Chester/Great Falls), SC · Chester County · District |
$20.53 | $27.13 | not stated | not stated | not stated | Summer bus driving: +$5/hr | 2026-27 Steps 0–28. A step counts after 152 days of state-funded driving in one fiscal year. | FY 2026-27 bus driver / bus aide salary scale FY 2026-27 district supplements / other pay checked 2026-10-30 |
| Horry County Schools Horry County (Conway), SC · Horry County · District |
$19.51 | $32.24 | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2026-27 Bus driver plan 0201, grades 103-105, steps 1-28 (revised Jan 2026). | 2026-27 support staff hourly scale (bus drivers, plan 0201) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Berkeley County School District Berkeley County (Moncks Corner), SC · Berkeley County · District |
$19.36 | $35.79 | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2026-27 (posting) 188 days, about 6 hours a day. The district's own scale page (bcsdschools.net, HR > salary scales) didn't show a readable bus driver schedule. | Third-party copy of 2026-27 bus driver (pool) posting (iHireTransportation) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Dorchester School District Two Dorchester County (Summerville), SC · Dorchester County · District |
not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | Hourly scale not published in a readable form. Drivers average $25/hr; $100 bonus per pay period for perfect attendance and no safety violations (2025-26). | Third-party news report (Live 5, Sep 2025) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Aiken County Public Schools Aiken County (Aiken), SC · Aiken County · District |
$20.10 | $31.13 | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2025-26 Bus drivers are on pay level 112 (180 days). Special-ed bus drivers are level 113 ($21.12-$32.68). | 2025-26 salary schedule (adopted 5/27/2025), level 112 checked 2026-10-30 |
| Beaufort County School District Beaufort County (Beaufort), SC · Beaufort County · District |
$19.67 | $34.82 | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2025-26 6-hour paid day. Activity bus driver $21.65/hr. A 2026-27 schedule is posted on the district site but not checked. | 2025-26 school bus driver salary schedule checked 2026-10-30 |
| School District of Pickens County Pickens County (Easley), SC · Pickens County · District |
not published | not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | The district's bus driver and salary schedule pages don't show a bus driver rate. Fox Carolina (May 2025) reported a 4.3% average raise. | District Bus Drivers page (no rate) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Florence 1 Schools Florence County (Florence), SC · Florence County · District |
not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2025-26 Drivers are on scale TR30, 185-day agreement; the dollar amounts aren't published online. 2026-27 adds a $2,000 raise and guaranteed 35 hours a week (district news). | District job posting checked 2026-10-30 |
| Sumter School District Sumter County (Sumter), SC · Sumter County · District |
$18.73 | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | current posting Starting rate with no experience. | Third-party copy of district posting (iHireTransportation) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Anderson School District 5 Anderson County (Anderson), SC · Anderson County · District |
$19.71 | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | current page (undated) Special-ed drivers start at $20.48. 30+ hours needed for benefits. A third-party copy of a 2026-27 scale shows $22.27-$31.55; double-check. | Transportation employment & training page checked 2026-10-30 |
| Kershaw County School District Kershaw County (Camden), SC · Kershaw County · District |
$17.98 | not stated | $1,500 sign-on | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2025-26 $1,500 signing bonus for new drivers, paid in two $750 installments. A 2026 third-party listing shows $17.15-$25.31. | KCSD careers page checked 2026-10-30 |
| Orangeburg County School District Orangeburg County (Orangeburg), SC · Orangeburg County · District |
$18.94 | $24.19 | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2026-27 (posting) Six-hour daily shift. The district's own 2025-26 salary schedule PDF is a scanned image. | Third-party copy of 2026-27 hourly bus driver posting (iHireTransportation) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Anderson School District 1 Anderson County (Williamston), SC · Anderson County · District |
$19.32 | $28.36 | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2026-27 Steps 0-32 by prior years of experience, 180-day contract. 8-hour annual $27,821-$40,838; 6-hour annual $20,866-$30,629. (Corrected: an older third-party copy showed $14.26-$19.60.) | 2026-27 bus driver salary schedule (updated), Anderson County School District One checked 2026-10-30 |
| School District of Oconee County Oconee County (Walhalla), SC · Oconee County · District |
not published | not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2023-24 (Jan 2024 raise) Older figure, not shown as current pay: $20.57-$31.32/hr after a Jan 2024 raise (The Oconee Enterprise). 180 days, 5 hours a day. | Third-party news report (The Oconee Enterprise, Jan 2024) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Darlington County School District Darlington County (Darlington), SC · Darlington County · District |
$19.02 | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2026-27 (posting) Overtime opportunities. | Third-party copy of 2026-27 posting (Vaia) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Greenwood School District 50 Greenwood County (Greenwood), SC · Greenwood County · District |
$19.00 | $30.50 | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2026-27 State pay scale plus a district supplement ($12.12 state + $6.88 local at step 1). | 2026-27 bus driver salary schedule checked 2026-10-30 |
| Georgetown County School District Georgetown County (Georgetown), SC · Georgetown County · District |
not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2026-27 Published as annual pay only ($12,961-$34,761 by experience/rank, 180 days), not hourly. 3% raise for 2026-27. | Third-party copy of 2026-27 schedule Z01 (salaryschedule.org) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Cherokee County School District Cherokee County (Gaffney), SC · Cherokee County · District |
$23.69 | $32.66 | not stated | not stated | 4 hours/day minimum base pay | not stated | 2025-26 180 days; base pay guaranteed at 4 hours a day, hourly rate for hours over 20 a week. | FY2025-26 compensation handbook, transportation (grade TR-2) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Chesterfield County School District Chesterfield County (Chesterfield), SC · Chesterfield County · District |
$15.31 | $21.91 | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2026-27 District's own 2026-27 bus driver hourly rate schedule, steps 0 to 22+. Among the lowest district rates in SC. | 2026-27 bus driver hourly rate schedule checked 2026-10-30 |
| School District of Newberry County Newberry County (Newberry), SC · Newberry County · District |
not published | not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2026-27 The district's current salary schedules page (2026-27) lists teacher, administrator and classified G4-G20 schedules but no bus driver schedule. A bus driver PDF found elsewhere ($28.24-$35.18, effective July 1, 2026) does not name the district, so it isn't shown. Postings say pay follows the classified scale, 180 days. | District current salary schedules page (2026-27) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Laurens County School District 55 Laurens County (Laurens), SC · Laurens County · District |
not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | 7.5-hour day | not stated | 2026-27 Hourly rate not found. 5% raise for drivers in Oct 2026; 7.5-hour guaranteed day with full benefits for full-time drivers. | Third-party news report (Fox Carolina, Oct 2026) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Colleton County School District Colleton County (Walterboro), SC · Colleton County · District |
not published | not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2026-27 The third-party schedule copy we had no longer shows bus driver figures. No rate shown. | Third-party copy of 2026-27 schedule (salaryschedule.org) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Clarendon County School District Clarendon County (Manning), SC · Clarendon County · District |
not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2026-27 Hourly rate not published; 2026-27 budget gives bus drivers a 2% raise. | Third-party news report (Manning Live) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Dillon School District Four Dillon County (Dillon), SC · Dillon County · District |
not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | No published bus driver rate; applications at the district office. | District employment page checked 2026-10-30 |
| Marion County School District Marion County (Marion), SC · Marion County · District |
not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2023-24 (posting dated Feb 2024) Only outdated figure found ($11.39/hr in a Feb 2024 posting), below the current state minimum, so not shown as current pay. | District job postings (Frontline) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Union County Schools Union County (Union), SC · Union County · District |
not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | No published bus driver rate. Attendance bonuses offered (WYFF). | District jobs site checked 2026-10-30 |
| Marlboro County School District Marlboro County (Bennettsville), SC · Marlboro County · District |
not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | No published bus driver rate found. | District transportation job postings checked 2026-10-30 |
| Anderson School District 2 Anderson County (Honea Path), SC · Anderson County · District |
not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | No bus driver hourly rate found. Full-time drivers work 30+ hours a week. 2024-25 hourly scale rose 30%. | District salary schedule page checked 2026-10-30 |
| Edgefield County School District Edgefield County (Johnston), SC · Edgefield County · District |
$16.84 | $21.94 | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2025-26 Field trip rate $18.94/hr. A 2026-27 schedule may be posted on the district's pay scales page. | 2025-26 salary schedule (school bus driver pay schedule) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Anderson School District 4 Anderson County (Pendleton), SC · Anderson County · District |
not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | No hourly rate found; FY27 gives drivers a 3% raise plus a step. | Third-party report of FY27 budget (ourschoolboard.org) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Florence County School District 3 Florence County (Lake City), SC · Florence County · District |
not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | posting Hourly rate not published. A third-party listing showing annual pay could not be re-read. | Third-party job listing copy (myjobhelper) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Williamsburg County School District Williamsburg County (Kingstree), SC · Williamsburg County · District |
$15.03 | not stated | $2,000 hiring bonus | not stated | not stated | not stated | current flyer (undated) $2,000 hiring bonus for first-time new drivers (with stipulations). | District bus driver training flyer checked 2026-10-30 |
| Abbeville County School District Abbeville County (Abbeville), SC · Abbeville County · District |
not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | No current bus driver rate published (only a 2015 news figure of $10.82/hr). | District HR page checked 2026-10-30 |
| Anderson School District 3 Anderson County (Iva), SC · Anderson County · District |
not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2025-26 Schedule page loads with JavaScript only; rate not captured. | District 2025-26 salary schedules page checked 2026-10-30 |
| Laurens County School District 56 Laurens County (Clinton), SC · Laurens County · District |
not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | Part-time driver postings; no rate stated. | District notice of vacancies checked 2026-10-30 |
| Jasper County School District Jasper County (Ridgeland), SC · Jasper County · District |
not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2021-22 (2022 news) Only outdated figure found ($11.89-$18/hr in 2022), below the current state minimum, so not shown as current pay. | Third-party news report (Island Packet, 2022) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Saluda County School District Saluda County (Saluda), SC · Saluda County · District |
not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | Posting has no rate (only a 2017 state review figure of $10.08/hr). | District bus driver posting checked 2026-10-30 |
| Hampton County School District Hampton County (Varnville), SC · Hampton County · District |
not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | 7.5 hours/day | not stated | 2025-26 Published as annual pay: $25,842.28 (step 0) to $43,455.00 (step 28) for 180 days x 7.5 hours at 0.875 FTE. That works out to roughly $19.14-$32.19/hr, but the district doesn't print an hourly rate. Trainees: $10.00 then $15.01/hr (Career.com). | 2025-26 bus driver salary scale checked 2026-10-30 |
| Fairfield County School District Fairfield County (Winnsboro), SC · Fairfield County · District |
$19.28 | $29.29 | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2025-26 185-day calendar. Substitute drivers $18.44/hr. | FY25-26 transportation salary schedule checked 2026-10-30 |
| Dorchester School District Four Dorchester County (St. George), SC · Dorchester County · District |
$20.00 | $28.00 | not stated | not stated | 30 hours/week minimum | not stated | current posting Pay by prior bus-driving experience. Guaranteed minimum 30-hour week, state health and retirement benefits. | District job postings (Frontline) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Barnwell County School District Barnwell County (Barnwell), SC · Barnwell County · District |
not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | Posting is hourly but the rate isn't shown. | District bus driver posting checked 2026-10-30 |
| Bamberg County School District Bamberg County (Denmark), SC · Bamberg County · District |
not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | Posting has no rate. | District job board checked 2026-10-30 |
| Calhoun County Public Schools Calhoun County (St. Matthews), SC · Calhoun County · District |
not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | No published rate found. | District bus driver postings checked 2026-10-30 |
| Dillon School District Three Dillon County (Latta), SC · Dillon County · District |
not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | No published rate. Call 843-752-7101 for current pay. | District transportation page checked 2026-10-30 |
| Greenwood School District 52 Greenwood County (Ninety Six), SC · Greenwood County · District |
not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2025-26 Hourly rate not published. 2025-26: 2.90% raise for steps 1-9, 4.48% for step 10. | Board agenda, May 12, 2025 (personnel) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Lee County School District Lee County (Bishopville), SC · Lee County · District |
not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2025-26 District links a 2025-26 bus driver salary scale, but the figures weren't readable. | District employment resources page (links 2025-26 bus driver scale) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Florence School District Five Florence County (Johnsonville), SC · Florence County · District |
not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | No hourly rate found. A Career.com listing shows $35,157-$47,427 a year, which looks like an estimate, not a district rate. | District HR page checked 2026-10-30 |
| Williston School District 29 (Barnwell 48) Barnwell County (Williston), SC · Barnwell County · District |
not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | Posting is hourly but the rate isn't shown. | District bus driver pool posting (2024-25) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Florence County School District 2 Florence County (Pamplico), SC · Florence County · District |
not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | Only teacher scales posted; no bus driver rate. | District salary scales page checked 2026-10-30 |
| Allendale County School District Allendale County (Fairfax), SC · Allendale County · District |
not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | posting Route driver rate not found. Only a part-time field-trip posting was seen, on a third-party site that could not be re-read. | Third-party copy of field trip driver posting (Career.com) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Ware Shoals School District 51 Greenwood County (Ware Shoals), SC · Greenwood County · District |
not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | 37.5 hours/week | not stated | No rate posted; postings say 182 days, 37.5 hours a week. | District job board checked 2026-10-30 |
| McCormick County School District McCormick County (Mccormick), SC · McCormick County · District |
not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 180-day full-time role; no rate published. | District compensation & benefits page checked 2026-10-30 |
Pay by metro area (BLS)
| Area | Drivers | Median $/hr | Bottom 10% | Top 10% |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Augusta-Richmond County, GA-SC | 460 | $10.20 | $7.93 | $17.82 |
| Charleston-North Charleston, SC | 950 | $22.34 | $17.95 | $28.77 |
| Charlotte-Concord-Gastonia, NC-SC | 3970 | $22.12 | $16.98 | $24.03 |
| Columbia, SC | 990 | $17.77 | $13.84 | $27.48 |
| Florence, SC | 310 | $17.05 | $10.40 | $25.06 |
| Greenville-Anderson-Greer, SC | not stated | $21.13 | $14.60 | $24.04 |
| Hilton Head Island-Bluffton-Port Royal, SC | 140 | $15.22 | $9.36 | $18.60 |
| Myrtle Beach-Conway-North Myrtle Beach, SC | 350 | $14.46 | $11.76 | $17.91 |
| Spartanburg, SC | 370 | $21.94 | $15.79 | $27.72 |
| Northwestern South Carolina nonmetropolitan area | 360 | $18.08 | $8.83 | $23.17 |
| Southern South Carolina nonmetropolitan area | 240 | $11.73 | $9.11 | $17.19 |
| Northeastern South Carolina nonmetropolitan area | 370 | $13.59 | $8.34 | $19.17 |
How to become a school bus driver in South Carolina
- You need a CDL (usually Class B) with P and S endorsements, plus a South Carolina Department of Education (SCDE) School Bus Driver's Certificate.
- The SCDE certificate requires the state driver training course (classroom + road), a DOT medical exam, the SCDE physical performance test, and background/drug checks. This also applies to contractor drivers carrying public students.
- Certificates are suspended for more than 4 points on your driving record after certification; a DUI conviction revokes it.
- SCDE publishes a statewide guide pay scale for state-owned buses: $11.88/hr (0 years) to $17.48/hr (22+ years) for 2025-26. Most districts pay well above it with local money.
- One year of experience = at least 152 days as an SCDE-certified driver in a school year.
Looking for an employer that pays while you train? See paid CDL training in South Carolina.
Federal rules that apply in every state
- Since Feb 7, 2022, anyone getting a P (passenger) or S (school bus) endorsement for the first time must finish Entry-Level Driver Training (ELDT) from a provider on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry before the skills test.
- ELDT has two parts: online/classroom theory (80% passing score on the assessment) and behind-the-wheel training. S-endorsement training must use a representative school bus.
- There is no federal minimum number of hours; the provider certifies you are proficient.
- Use FMCSA's Find a Provider search, filtered to your state and "School Bus," to find a registered trainer.
Need the ELDT theory part for an upgrade or new endorsement? One option is DLA Academy's online theory courses (promo code ANDREW). Check that any provider is on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry first. Affiliate link: School Bus Pay may earn a commission if you sign up through it. Listing it isn't an endorsement of any school.
Frequently asked questions
How much do school bus drivers make in South Carolina?
The BLS median for school bus drivers in South Carolina is $19.18/hr ($39,900/yr), with the bottom 10% at $11.37 and the top 10% at $27.48 (OEWS May 2025). Among the 38 South Carolina employers we list with a published starting rate, starting pay runs from $15.03/hr (Williamsburg County School District) to $23.69/hr (Cherokee County School District).
Which South Carolina district pays school bus drivers the most?
Cherokee County School District has the highest starting rate we found in South Carolina, at $23.69/hr (2025-26). The highest top-of-scale rate is $39.60/hr at Fort Mill School District 4. Each figure links to the employer's own salary schedule or posting in the list above.
Which South Carolina employers offer paid CDL training?
7 South Carolina employers we list say on their own page or posting that training is paid: Fort Mill School District 4, Rock Hill Schools, Richland School District One, First Student — Charleston area (N. Charleston, Mt. Pleasant, Johns Island), Lexington-Richland School District Five, Lexington School District Two, Spartanburg School District Seven. The rest don't say either way. See our paid CDL training list.
How do you become a school bus driver in South Carolina?
You need a CDL (usually Class B) with P and S endorsements, plus a South Carolina Department of Education (SCDE) School Bus Driver's Certificate. New P or S endorsement holders must also finish federal Entry-Level Driver Training (ELDT) first.
The Bus Lot Weekly
New raises, sign-on bonuses and paid-training offers near you, every week. Free.
Free weekly email. Unsubscribe anytime.
