Last updated · Sources: BLS OEWS May 2025, North Carolina certification rules: NCDMV School Bus Endorsements, North Carolina certification rules: N.C. G.S. 20-218, each employer's source, linked in the tables below
North Carolina school bus driver pay by district
About 12,390 school bus drivers work in North Carolina. The middle (median) driver earns $18.01/hr ($37,460/yr), according to the BLS. Below, 57 districts and bus companies are ranked by their own published starting pay.
Find your North Carolina district
Start typing for suggestions. Zip lookup covers SC, NC and GA, using Census zip-to-county data.
Districts ranked by starting pay
- $21.00/hr to start — KIPP Durham (charter) (Durham County · 2026-27)
- $20.74/hr to start · top $26.61/hr — Buncombe County Schools (Buncombe County · 2025-26)
- $20.04/hr to start — Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools (Mecklenburg County · 2026-27)
- $20.00/hr to start — Wake County Public Schools (Wake County · 2026-27)
- $20.00/hr to start — Union County Public Schools (Union County · 2026-27)
- $20.00/hr to start — First Student — Greensboro (Guilford County · 2026)
- $20.00/hr to start · top $23.09/hr — Onslow County Schools (Onslow County · 2026-27)
- $20.00/hr to start · top $24.15/hr — Moore County Schools (Moore County · 2026-27)
- $19.43/hr to start — Durham Public Schools (Durham County · current page)
- $19.08/hr to start · top $22.64/hr — Cumberland County Schools (Cumberland County · 2025-26)
- $19.00/hr to start — Brunswick County Schools (Brunswick County · 2025-26)
- $18.87/hr to start — New Hanover County Schools (New Hanover County · 2025-26)
- $18.00/hr to start · top $20.93/hr — Harnett County Schools (Harnett County · current)
- $18.00/hr to start · top $21.56/hr — Hoke County Schools (Hoke County · 2026-27)
- $17.95/hr to start — Davidson County Schools (Davidson County · 2025-26 (postings))
- $17.85/hr to start — Rowan-Salisbury Schools (Rowan County · current)
- $17.81/hr to start — Pitt County Schools (Pitt County · current (posting))
- $17.68/hr to start · top $25.95/hr — Orange County Schools (Orange County · 2026-27)
- $17.32/hr to start · top $22.33/hr — Wayne County Public Schools (Wayne County · current)
- $17.18/hr to start — Burke County Public Schools (Burke County · current (posting))
- $17.06/hr to start · top $26.66/hr — Cabarrus County Schools (Cabarrus County · 2025-26 (posting))
- $16.79/hr to start — Nash County Public Schools (Nash County · current)
- $16.69/hr to start — Winston-Salem/Forsyth County Schools (Forsyth County · 2025-26)
- $16.47/hr to start — Henderson County Public Schools (Henderson County · 2026-27)
- $16.38/hr to start — Guilford County Schools (Guilford County · 2026-27)
- $16.07/hr to start · top $21.69/hr — Lincoln County Schools (Lincoln County · current (posting))
- $15.80/hr to start · top $20.14/hr — Haywood County Schools (Haywood County · 2025-26)
- $15.60/hr to start · top $18.39/hr — Catawba County Schools (Catawba County · 2026-27 (posting))
- $15.23/hr to start — Stanly County Schools (Stanly County · 2026-27 (posting))
- $15.00/hr to start · top $21.68/hr — Rockingham County Schools (Rockingham County · current (posting))
- not published — Johnston County Public Schools (Johnston County)
- not published — Gaston County Schools (Gaston County)
- not published — Alamance-Burlington School System (Alamance County)
- not published — Public Schools of Robeson County (Robeson County)
- not published — Iredell-Statesville Schools (Iredell County)
- not published — Randolph County School System (Randolph County)
- not published — Cleveland County Schools (Cleveland County)
- not published — Craven County Schools (Craven County)
- not published — Chapel Hill-Carrboro City Schools (Orange County)
- not published — Pender County Schools (Pender County)
- not published — Caldwell County Schools (Caldwell County)
- not published — Wilson County Schools (Wilson County)
- not published — Duplin County Schools (Duplin County)
- not published — Lee County Schools (Lee County)
- not published — Chatham County Schools (Chatham County)
- not published — Wilkes County Schools (Wilkes County)
- not published — Lenoir County Public Schools (Lenoir County)
- not published — Carteret County Public Schools (Carteret County)
- not published — Sampson County Schools (Sampson County)
- not published — Franklin County Schools (Franklin County)
- not published — Rutherford County Schools (Rutherford County)
- not published — Surry County Schools (Surry County)
- not published — Granville County Public Schools (Granville County)
- not published — Mooresville Graded School District (Iredell County)
- not published — Kannapolis City Schools (Cabarrus County)
- not published — Columbus County Schools (Columbus County)
- not published — Bladen County Schools (Bladen County)
Pay range statewide (BLS, May 2025)
| Bottom 10% | 25% | Median | 75% | Top 10% | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hourly | $15.51 | $17.01 | $18.01 | $21.38 | $22.58 |
| Yearly | $32,270 | $35,370 | $37,460 | $44,480 | $46,960 |
Compare by county
Full details for every North Carolina employer
| Employer | Start $/hr | Top $/hr | Sign-on bonus | Paid CDL training | Guaranteed hours | Summer pay | Pay year / notes | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools Mecklenburg County (Charlotte), NC · Mecklenburg County · District |
$20.04 | not stated | not stated | Yes | not stated | not stated | 2026-27 "Paid Training Available." Hiring at 18+. | CMS Become a Driver page checked 2026-10-30 |
| Wake County Public Schools Wake County (Raleigh), NC · Wake County · District |
$20.00 | not stated | $1,200 sign-on + up to $4,000/yr attendance & retention bonuses | Yes | not stated Up to 4 hrs AM + 4 hrs PM; must be available 30 hrs/week | not stated | 2026-27 "We'll pay for your CDL license." | WCPSS bus driver careers page checked 2026-10-30 |
| Union County Public Schools Union County (Monroe), NC · Union County · District |
$20.00 | not stated | not stated | Yes | not stated | not stated | 2026-27 Starting rate $20.00/hr; paid training for driver trainees; separate recruitment bonus program for referrals. | UCPS We Are Hiring page checked 2026-10-30 |
| First Student — Greensboro Guilford County (Greensboro), NC · Guilford County · Contractor |
$20.00 | not stated | not stated | not stated | 4 hrs/day CDL required for this posting | not stated | 2026 | First Student posting JR14229 checked 2026-10-30 |
| Guilford County Schools Guilford County (Greensboro), NC · Guilford County · District |
$16.38 | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated 10-month, full-time | not stated | 2026-27 Paid on classified grade 62. | LinkedIn copy of district posting (third-party) GCS compensation page checked 2026-10-30 |
| KIPP Durham (charter) Durham, NC · Durham County · Charter school |
$21.00 | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2026-27 CDL required. | KIPP NC career board posting checked 2026-10-30 |
| Winston-Salem/Forsyth County Schools Forsyth County (Winston Salem), NC · Forsyth County · District |
$16.69 | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2025-26 Bus driver grades 51-52: $16.686/hr ($2,892.18/month) on the district's revised 2025-26 classified schedule. Top rate not shown. | 2025-26 classified salary schedule (bus driver, grades 51-52) District 2025-26 salary schedules page checked 2026-10-30 |
| Cumberland County Schools Cumberland County (Fayetteville), NC · Cumberland County · District |
$19.08 | $22.64 | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2025-26 Substitute bus drivers $18.50/hr. | 2025-26 employee compensation plan (bus driver salary placement) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Johnston County Public Schools Johnston County (Smithfield), NC · Johnston County · District |
not published | not published | not stated | Yes | not stated | not stated | 2025-26 The district page says drivers "could earn up to $18.81 per hour for CDL holders", with paid training, attendance, performance and retention bonuses. It doesn't give a starting rate or a step scale. | District transportation services page checked 2026-10-30 |
| Cabarrus County Schools Cabarrus County (Concord), NC · Cabarrus County · District |
$17.06 | $26.66 | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2025-26 (posting) Lead bus drivers (NC06) $17.56-$27.99/hr per third-party listings. | District bus driver posting (pay grade NC05) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Durham Public Schools Durham County (Durham), NC · Durham County · District |
$19.43 | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | current page New hires start as Bus Driver Trainees "earning $19.43/hr" while they train. Top rate not published. | Becoming a Bus Driver page checked 2026-10-30 |
| Gaston County Schools Gaston County (Gastonia), NC · Gaston County · District |
not published | not published | not stated | not stated | 6 hours/day | not stated | 2025-26 (posting) Third-party copies of district postings mention $17.02/hr (lead drivers from $18.08), but none could be re-read to confirm. No rate shown. | Third-party copy of district posting (Career.com) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Onslow County Schools Onslow County (Jacksonville), NC · Onslow County · District |
$20.00 | $23.09 | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2026-27 New scale approved Sep 2026, retroactive to Aug 1 (was $17.99). The district's bus driver page still shows an older $16.96 start. | Third-party news report (WITN, Sep 15, 2026) checked 2026-10-30 |
| New Hanover County Schools New Hanover County (Wilmington), NC · New Hanover County · District |
$18.87 | not stated | $1,000 retention bonus | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2025-26 $1,000 bonus for permanent drivers in good standing for 120 school days (district incentive page). | Become a Bus Driver page checked 2026-10-30 |
| Pitt County Schools Pitt County (Greenville), NC · Pitt County · District |
$17.81 | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | current (posting) Posting says "Starting Pay: BD $17.81 (subject to changes)". 180-day position. | Third-party copy of district posting, Belvoir Elementary (iHireTransportation) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Alamance-Burlington School System Alamance County (Burlington), NC · Alamance County · District |
not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2024-25 Finance officer said start was about $17.50/hr (Jan 2025); salary records show $17.82-$18.73. No current published scale found. | Third-party news (Alamance News) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Buncombe County Schools Buncombe County (Asheville), NC · Buncombe County · District |
$20.74 | $26.61 | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2025-26 Includes the 10.77% local supplement; placement by state service. Routes 4-8 hours a day, 10 months. (Corrected from an older $20.14-$25.84.) | Third-party job listing (SimplyHired copy of district posting) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Public Schools of Robeson County Robeson County (Lumberton), NC · Robeson County · District |
not published | not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | current (Sep 2026 listing) The district's bus driver pay schedule folder was empty when checked, and the job listing we had could not be re-read. No rate shown. | District bus driver pay schedule page (no document posted) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Iredell-Statesville Schools Iredell County (Statesville), NC · Iredell County · District |
not published | not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2024-25 Older figure, not shown as current pay: $17.53-$24.74/hr on the 2024-25 schedule (third-party copy). | Third-party salary schedule aggregator (salaryschedule.org) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Harnett County Schools Harnett County (Lillington), NC · Harnett County · District |
$18.00 | $20.93 | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | current Scale: 0-7 yrs $18.00, 8-11 $18.29, 12-15 $18.87, 16-22 $19.25, 23-27 $20.22, 28+ $20.93. Page is undated. | Procedures to Becoming a Bus Driver page (pay by credited driving years) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Rowan-Salisbury Schools Rowan County (Salisbury), NC · Rowan County · District |
$17.85 | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | current Advertised as "$17.85+ an hour". Most routes part-time; full-time routes include health insurance and retirement. | Bus Drivers Needed page checked 2026-10-30 |
| Davidson County Schools Davidson County (Lexington), NC · Davidson County · District |
$17.95 | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2025-26 (postings) Postings vary: some list $16.51/hr regular, $18.49/hr EC routes; subs $15.50-$16.72. Double-check. | Third-party summary of district SchoolSpring postings checked 2026-10-30 |
| Wayne County Public Schools Wayne County (Goldsboro), NC · Wayne County · District |
$17.32 | $22.33 | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | current Ten-month position. (Page renders with JavaScript; figures from search snapshot.) | District Bus Drivers page checked 2026-10-30 |
| Catawba County Schools Catawba County (Newton), NC · Catawba County · District |
$15.60 | $18.39 | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2026-27 (posting) Combined Teacher Assistant/Bus Driver role, 8 hrs/day. No standalone bus driver rate found. | Third-party job listing (iHireTransportation) - Teacher Assistant/Bus Driver checked 2026-10-30 |
| Randolph County School System Randolph County (Asheboro), NC · Randolph County · District |
not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | current Listings say "hourly plus supplement" with no rate. Routes about 2.75-3.35 hrs/day. | RCSS Bus Driver Plan article checked 2026-10-30 |
| Nash County Public Schools Nash County (Nashville), NC · Nash County · District |
$16.79 | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | current 2025 news: average $18.09/hr, start $16.75, top $23.82 (Rocky Mount Telegram). | Bus Drivers Needed page checked 2026-10-30 |
| Cleveland County Schools Cleveland County (Shelby), NC · Cleveland County · District |
not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2021 Only 2021 figures ($13.35-$17.90/hr), below today's $15 state minimum. Not current. | Third-party news (Shelby Star, 2021) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Moore County Schools Moore County (Carthage), NC · Moore County · District |
$20.00 | $24.15 | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2026-27 32 steps. Field-trip rate $16.87/hr; substitute yellow-bus drivers $20.00/hr. | 2026-27 bus driver hourly scale (effective 8/1/2026) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Brunswick County Schools Brunswick County (Bolivia), NC · Brunswick County · District |
$19.00 | not stated | $2,500 sign-on bonus | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2025-26 New drivers $19/hr plus $2,500 sign-on bonus; existing drivers reported at $17. Official bus driver schedule on bcswan.net not readable here. | Third-party news report (WWAY, May 2025) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Henderson County Public Schools Henderson County (Hendersonville), NC · Henderson County · District |
$16.47 | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2026-27 Part-time routes about 10-17 hrs/week; some 2026-27 listings show $16.96-$24.62. | Bus Driver Employment page checked 2026-10-30 |
| Craven County Schools Craven County (New Bern), NC · Craven County · District |
not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2021 2021: start raised to $15, up to about $23 with experience. Current posting lists annual pay only. | Third-party news (Public Radio East, 2021) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Burke County Public Schools Burke County (Morganton), NC · Burke County · District |
$17.18 | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | current (posting) Part-time route. | District job posting (part-time bus driver) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Lincoln County Schools Lincoln County (Lincolnton), NC · Lincoln County · District |
$16.07 | $21.69 | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | current (posting) Placement by NC State Retirement System service in a similar job. Posting is a combined custodian/bus driver role but lists the bus driver grade separately. | District job posting (Grade 58) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Chapel Hill-Carrboro City Schools Orange County (Chapel Hill), NC · Orange County · District |
not published | not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2023 (raise) Older figure, not shown as current pay: the board raised starting pay to $20/hr in 2023 (WRAL). | Third-party news report (WRAL, 2023) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Rockingham County Schools Rockingham County (Eden), NC · Rockingham County · District |
$15.00 | $21.68 | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | current (posting) Start equals the $15 state minimum. | District job posting (AM route) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Pender County Schools Pender County (Burgaw), NC · Pender County · District |
not published | not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2024-25 Older figure, not shown as current pay: $17.75/hr after a Feb 2025 raise (WECT). | Third-party news report (WECT, Feb 2025) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Caldwell County Schools Caldwell County (Lenoir), NC · Caldwell County · District |
not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | current Third-party listings show about $15-$15.46/hr; not confirmed. | District job posting (no rate shown) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Wilson County Schools Wilson County (Wilson), NC · Wilson County · District |
not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | current No published rate found. | District employment page (no rate) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Duplin County Schools Duplin County (Kenansville), NC · Duplin County · District |
not published | not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2024-25 Older figure, not shown as current pay: $16.50/hr in a Feb 2025 regional comparison (WECT). | Third-party news report (WECT, Feb 2025, regional comparison) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Lee County Schools Lee County (Sanford), NC · Lee County · District |
not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2021-22 2021-22 plan: $16 start, $17.90 top. Not current. | Third-party news (The Rant, 2021) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Chatham County Schools Chatham County (Pittsboro), NC · Chatham County · District |
not published | not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | current (posting) A third-party copy of the posting ($15-$18/hr, part-time, 10 months) could not be re-read. No rate shown. | Third-party copy of district posting checked 2026-10-30 |
| Hoke County Schools Hoke County (Raeford), NC · Hoke County · District |
$18.00 | $21.56 | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2026-27 Full-time, 10 months; rate by years of driving experience. | District 2026-27 bus driver posting checked 2026-10-30 |
| Wilkes County Schools Wilkes County (North Wilkesboro), NC · Wilkes County · District |
not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | current Listings show monthly pay plus 5% local supplement, no hourly rate. | District SchoolSpring job board checked 2026-10-30 |
| Stanly County Schools Stanly County (Albemarle), NC · Stanly County · District |
$15.23 | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2026-27 (posting) Part-time routes. Some 2025 postings listed $15.00. | Third-party summary of SchoolSpring posting checked 2026-10-30 |
| Lenoir County Public Schools Lenoir County (Kinston), NC · Lenoir County · District |
not published | not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2026-27 (posting) Only a combined teacher assistant/bus driver posting was found, and it could not be re-read. No driver rate shown. | Third-party job listing (HiringCafe) - EC Teacher Assistant/Bus Driver checked 2026-10-30 |
| Carteret County Public Schools Carteret County (Beaufort), NC · Carteret County · District |
not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | current Only an old Indeed figure ($12/hr, below today's $15 state minimum) found. | District job board (no rate) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Sampson County Schools Sampson County (Clinton), NC · Sampson County · District |
not published | not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2024-25 Older figure, not shown as current pay: $17.06/hr in a Feb 2025 regional comparison (WECT). | Third-party news report (WECT, Feb 2025, regional comparison) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Franklin County Schools Franklin County (Louisburg), NC · Franklin County · District |
not published | not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | current Third-party listings ($17.65) and a Nov 2024 district post ($19.94) could not be confirmed as current. District offers bus-driving premium pay and a $1,000 permanent driver bonus. | Third-party job listings (Tallo) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Rutherford County Schools Rutherford County (Forest City), NC · Rutherford County · District |
not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | current Postings list no hourly rate. | District SchoolSpring job board checked 2026-10-30 |
| Surry County Schools Surry County (Dobson), NC · Surry County · District |
not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | current Only annual estimates for a driver/custodian role found. | District job descriptions page checked 2026-10-30 |
| Orange County Schools Orange County (Hillsborough), NC · Orange County · District |
$17.68 | $25.95 | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2026-27 State rate plus $2.50 local ($3.00 at higher levels). Substitute drivers $17.68, activity bus $15.45. | 2026-27 Salary Guides (bus driver hourly scale) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Granville County Public Schools Granville County (Oxford), NC · Granville County · District |
not published | not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | current District SchoolSpring listing gives "Part-Time Salary: $16.88 to $24 Per Hour" for a combined bus driver and/or monitor role, so no driver-only rate is shown. | Third-party summary of district SchoolSpring listings checked 2026-10-30 |
| Haywood County Schools Haywood County (Waynesville), NC · Haywood County · District |
$15.80 | $20.14 | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2025-26 Top after 30 years. A district part-time posting lists $15.60/hr (https://haywood.tedk12.com/hire/Admin/JobPostingPrintView.aspx?Internal=&JobID=599). | Third-party news report (WLOS, Jul 2025) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Mooresville Graded School District Iredell County (Mooresville), NC · Iredell County · District |
not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | current Only Indeed estimates found. | District job posting (rate not shown) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Kannapolis City Schools Cabarrus County (Kannapolis), NC · Cabarrus County · District |
not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2026-27 A July 2026 hiring post reportedly lists transportation pay of $19.20-$21.85/hr; not verified. | Third-party social post checked 2026-10-30 |
| Columbus County Schools Columbus County (Whiteville), NC · Columbus County · District |
not published | not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2024-25 Older figure, not shown as current pay: $17.60/hr in a Feb 2025 regional comparison (WECT). | Third-party news report (WECT, Feb 2025, regional comparison) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Bladen County Schools Bladen County (Elizabethtown), NC · Bladen County · District |
not published | not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2024-25 Older figure, not shown as current pay: $15.00/hr in a Feb 2025 regional comparison (WECT). | Third-party news report (WECT, Feb 2025, regional comparison) checked 2026-10-30 |
Pay by metro area (BLS)
| Area | Drivers | Median $/hr | Bottom 10% | Top 10% |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Asheville, NC | 260 | $18.57 | $13.21 | $22.69 |
| Burlington, NC | 70 | $17.78 | $16.07 | $21.38 |
| Charlotte-Concord-Gastonia, NC-SC | 3970 | $22.12 | $16.98 | $24.03 |
| Durham-Chapel Hill, NC | 500 | $19.54 | $17.52 | $23.92 |
| Fayetteville, NC | 450 | $16.85 | $12.89 | $21.98 |
| Goldsboro, NC | 130 | $16.92 | $15.04 | $19.63 |
| Greensboro-High Point, NC | 1030 | $17.92 | $16.95 | $23.21 |
| Greenville, NC | 190 | $17.55 | $16.56 | $18.75 |
| Hickory-Lenoir-Morganton, NC | 250 | $17.77 | $16.16 | $18.25 |
| Pinehurst-Southern Pines, NC | 60 | $17.21 | $15.86 | $21.21 |
| Raleigh-Cary, NC | 2120 | $18.52 | $13.93 | $22.98 |
| Rocky Mount, NC | 270 | $19.52 | $13.67 | $19.52 |
| Virginia Beach-Chesapeake-Norfolk, VA-NC | 2390 | $24.13 | $19.46 | $29.91 |
| Wilmington, NC | 140 | $17.54 | $13.38 | $20.92 |
| Winston-Salem, NC | 630 | $17.70 | $16.22 | $21.22 |
| Eastern North Carolina nonmetropolitan area | 990 | $17.26 | $15.31 | $21.21 |
| Central North Carolina nonmetropolitan area | 840 | $16.98 | $15.93 | $17.66 |
| Western North Carolina nonmetropolitan area | 750 | $16.91 | $15.83 | $22.44 |
How to become a school bus driver in North Carolina
- Minimum age 18, with at least 6 months of driving experience on a full license.
- You must be sponsored by a school transportation provider (a district or charter) to take school bus training.
- You need a CDL with P and S endorsements and an NCDMV School Bus Driver's Certificate: NCDMV-approved training, knowledge tests (80%), then pre-trip, backing and road skills tests.
- The certificate renews every 3 years.
Looking for an employer that pays while you train? See paid CDL training in North Carolina.
Federal rules that apply in every state
- Since Feb 7, 2022, anyone getting a P (passenger) or S (school bus) endorsement for the first time must finish Entry-Level Driver Training (ELDT) from a provider on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry before the skills test.
- ELDT has two parts: online/classroom theory (80% passing score on the assessment) and behind-the-wheel training. S-endorsement training must use a representative school bus.
- There is no federal minimum number of hours; the provider certifies you are proficient.
- Use FMCSA's Find a Provider search, filtered to your state and "School Bus," to find a registered trainer.
Need the ELDT theory part for an upgrade or new endorsement? One option is DLA Academy's online theory courses (promo code ANDREW). Check that any provider is on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry first. Affiliate link: School Bus Pay may earn a commission if you sign up through it. Listing it isn't an endorsement of any school.
Frequently asked questions
How much do school bus drivers make in North Carolina?
The BLS median for school bus drivers in North Carolina is $18.01/hr ($37,460/yr), with the bottom 10% at $15.51 and the top 10% at $22.58 (OEWS May 2025). Among the 30 North Carolina employers we list with a published starting rate, starting pay runs from $15.00/hr (Rockingham County Schools) to $21.00/hr (KIPP Durham (charter)).
Which North Carolina district pays school bus drivers the most?
KIPP Durham (charter) has the highest starting rate we found in North Carolina, at $21.00/hr (2026-27). The highest top-of-scale rate is $26.66/hr at Cabarrus County Schools. Each figure links to the employer's own salary schedule or posting in the list above.
Which North Carolina employers offer paid CDL training?
4 North Carolina employers we list say on their own page or posting that training is paid: Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools, Wake County Public Schools, Union County Public Schools, Johnston County Public Schools. The rest don't say either way. See our paid CDL training list.
How do you become a school bus driver in North Carolina?
Minimum age 18, with at least 6 months of driving experience on a full license. New P or S endorsement holders must also finish federal Entry-Level Driver Training (ELDT) first.
The Bus Lot Weekly
New raises, sign-on bonuses and paid-training offers near you, every week. Free.
Free weekly email. Unsubscribe anytime.
