Last updated · Sources: BLS OEWS May 2025, school bus drivers (SOC 53-3051)
Paid CDL training for school bus drivers
These 20 employers say on their own pages or postings that they pay you while you train for your CDL and school bus certificate. If an employer isn't here, its source doesn't say. That doesn't mean it won't pay, so ask.
Paid CDL training in South Carolina
More in South Carolina: all South Carolina districts by pay.
Paid CDL training in North Carolina
| Employer | County | Start $/hr | Payback terms | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Johnston County Public Schools District | Johnston County | not published | not stated | District transportation services page checked 2026-10-30 |
| Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools District | Mecklenburg County | $20.04 | not stated | CMS Become a Driver page checked 2026-10-30 |
| Union County Public Schools District | Union County | $20.00 | not stated | UCPS We Are Hiring page checked 2026-10-30 |
| Wake County Public Schools District | Wake County | $20.00 | not stated | WCPSS bus driver careers page checked 2026-10-30 |
More in North Carolina: all North Carolina districts by pay.
Paid CDL training in Georgia
More in Georgia: all Georgia districts by pay.
What the training covers
- Since Feb 7, 2022, anyone getting a P (passenger) or S (school bus) endorsement for the first time must finish Entry-Level Driver Training (ELDT) from a provider on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry before the skills test.
- ELDT has two parts: online/classroom theory (80% passing score on the assessment) and behind-the-wheel training. S-endorsement training must use a representative school bus.
- There is no federal minimum number of hours; the provider certifies you are proficient.
- Use FMCSA's Find a Provider search, filtered to your state and "School Bus," to find a registered trainer.
One option for the ELDT theory part: DLA Academy offers online ELDT theory courses for Class A, Class B, Passenger (P) and School Bus (S). Promo code: ANDREW.
Theory is only half of ELDT. You still need behind-the-wheel training, and it doesn't replace your state's school bus certification course. Whatever provider you use, confirm it's listed on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry. If your district or employer pays for training, start there.
Affiliate link: School Bus Pay may earn a commission if you sign up through it. Listing it isn't an endorsement of any school.
Frequently asked questions
Do school bus driver jobs come with paid CDL training?
Many do. 20 of the 183 employers we list in SC, NC and GA say on their own page or posting that training is paid. Most of the rest don't say either way, so ask before you pay for a CDL school.
Do I have to pay back the training if I quit?
None of the employers we list publish payback terms, so ask HR before you start.
What training does a new school bus driver need?
Federal ELDT (theory plus behind-the-wheel) from a provider on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry before the P and S skills tests, plus your state's school bus certification. Districts that pay for training usually cover both.
The Bus Lot Weekly
New raises, sign-on bonuses and paid-training offers near you, every week. Free.
Free weekly email. Unsubscribe anytime.
