Last updated · Sources: BLS OEWS May 2025, Georgia certification rules: GA State Board Rule 160-5-3-.08, Georgia certification rules: Georgia DDS School Bus Endorsement, Georgia certification rules: Georgia DDS ELDT page, each employer's source, linked in the tables below
Georgia school bus driver pay by district
About 16,880 school bus drivers work in Georgia. The middle (median) driver earns $21.61/hr ($44,950/yr), according to the BLS. Below, 52 districts and bus companies are ranked by their own published starting pay.
Find your Georgia district
Start typing for suggestions. Zip lookup covers SC, NC and GA, using Census zip-to-county data.
Districts ranked by starting pay
- $29.09/hr to start · top $41.80/hr — Marietta City Schools (Cobb County · 2026-27)
- $28.69/hr to start · top $38.24/hr — Cobb County School District (Cobb County · 2026-27)
- $28.00/hr to start · top $38.00/hr — Hall County Schools (Hall County · 2026-27)
- $26.29/hr to start · top $36.73/hr — City Schools of Decatur (DeKalb County · 2026-27)
- $26.00/hr to start · top $40.11/hr — Fayette County Public Schools (Fayette County · 2026-27)
- $25.71/hr to start · top $36.26/hr — Atlanta Public Schools (Fulton County · 2026-27)
- $25.21/hr to start — Clayton County Public Schools (Clayton County · 2026-27)
- $24.69/hr to start — Cherokee County School District (Cherokee County · 2026-27)
- $24.13/hr to start — Fulton County Schools (Fulton County · 2026-27)
- $22.61/hr to start · top $35.45/hr — Houston County School District (Houston County · 2026-27)
- $22.44/hr to start · top $31.00/hr — Gwinnett County Public Schools (Gwinnett County · 2026-27)
- $21.89/hr to start · top $25.80/hr — Henry County Schools (Henry County · 2026-27)
- $21.85/hr to start · top $25.20/hr — First Student — Dalton (Whitfield County · 2026)
- $21.68/hr to start · top $31.02/hr — DeKalb County School District (DeKalb County · 2026-27)
- $21.68/hr to start · top $31.73/hr — Newton County Schools (Newton County · 2026-27)
- $21.46/hr to start — Douglas County School System (Douglas County · current)
- $21.46/hr to start · top $25.46/hr — Bulloch County Schools (Bulloch County · 2026-27)
- $21.02/hr to start · top $34.37/hr — Forsyth County Schools (Forsyth County · 2026-27)
- $20.76/hr to start · top $27.68/hr — Rockdale County Public Schools (Rockdale County · 2026-27)
- $20.13/hr to start — Whitfield County Schools (Whitfield County · current)
- $20.00/hr to start — Catoosa County Public Schools (Catoosa County · 2025-26)
- $19.73/hr to start — Columbia County School District (Columbia County · current)
- $19.44/hr to start — Muscogee County School District (Muscogee County · current)
- $19.31/hr to start · top $25.98/hr — Richmond County School System (Richmond County · 2026-27)
- $18.68/hr to start · top $27.49/hr — Griffin-Spalding County School System (Spalding County · 2026-27)
- $17.15/hr to start · top $28.36/hr — Barrow County School System (Barrow County · current)
- $15.48/hr to start — Dougherty County School System (Dougherty County · 2025-26)
- not published — Savannah-Chatham County Public School System (Chatham County)
- not published — Paulding County School District (Paulding County)
- not published — Coweta County School System (Coweta County)
- not published — Bibb County School District (Bibb County)
- not published — Carroll County Schools (Carroll County)
- not published — Walton County School District (Walton County)
- not published — Effingham County School District (Effingham County)
- not published — Bartow County School System (Bartow County)
- not published — Glynn County Schools (Glynn County)
- not published — Clarke County School District (Clarke County)
- not published — Troup County School System (Troup County)
- not published — Lowndes County Schools (Lowndes County)
- not published — Liberty County School System (Liberty County)
- not published — Bryan County Schools (Bryan County)
- not published — Jackson County School System (Jackson County)
- not published — Camden County Schools (Camden County)
- not published — Floyd County Schools (Floyd County)
- not published — Colquitt County School District (Colquitt County)
- not published — Oconee County Schools (Oconee County)
- not published — Walker County Schools (Walker County)
- not published — Valdosta City Schools (Lowndes County)
- not published — Gainesville City School System (Hall County)
- not published — Polk School District (Polk County)
- not published — Thomas County Schools (Thomas County)
- not published — Pickens County Schools (Pickens County)
Pay range statewide (BLS, May 2025)
| Bottom 10% | 25% | Median | 75% | Top 10% | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hourly | $9.97 | $13.26 | $21.61 | $24.28 | $29.84 |
| Yearly | $20,740 | $27,570 | $44,950 | $50,490 | $62,060 |
Compare by county
Full details for every Georgia employer
| Employer | Start $/hr | Top $/hr | Sign-on bonus | Paid CDL training | Guaranteed hours | Summer pay | Pay year / notes | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gwinnett County Public Schools Gwinnett County, GA · Gwinnett County · District |
$22.44 | $31.00 | not stated | Yes | Guaranteed hours (amount not stated); most work 6–8 hrs/day Mid-day break ~9:30–1:30 | Summers off (pay over summer not stated) | 2026-27 "100% Fully Paid" CDL training at full pay; no Social Security deduction (5% more take-home). Top shown as "$31+". | GCPS bus driver page checked 2026-10-30 |
| Cobb County School District Cobb County (Marietta), GA · Cobb County · District |
$28.69 | $38.24 | not stated | Yes | not stated ~6 hrs/day split shift; 177 days | Yes — 15% of each check held back and paid over summer | 2026-27 | 2026-27 transportation salary schedule Become a School Bus Driver page checked 2026-10-30 |
| Fulton County Schools Fulton County, GA · Fulton County · District |
$24.13 | not stated | not stated | Yes | not stated 6 hrs/day = full time with benefits | not stated | 2026-27 Up to $27.80/hr to start with verified passenger-driving experience. | Become an FCS Bus Driver page checked 2026-10-30 |
| DeKalb County School District DeKalb County, GA · DeKalb County · District |
$21.68 | $31.02 | not stated | not stated | not stated 180 days × 6 hrs/day | not stated | 2026-27 | 2026-27 bus driver salary schedule checked 2026-10-30 |
| Forsyth County Schools Forsyth County (Cumming), GA · Forsyth County · District |
$21.02 | $34.37 | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2026-27 | 2026-27 transportation salary schedule checked 2026-10-30 |
| Cherokee County School District Cherokee County (Canton), GA · Cherokee County · District |
$24.69 | not stated | not stated | Yes | not stated 180-day calendar | not stated | 2026-27 | Join the Transportation Team page checked 2026-10-30 |
| Clayton County Public Schools Clayton County (Jonesboro), GA · Clayton County · District |
$25.21 | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated 6-hr workday | not stated | 2026-27 | Recruitment page checked 2026-10-30 |
| Henry County Schools Henry County (McDonough), GA · Henry County · District |
$21.89 | $25.80 | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2026-27 | 2026-27 salary schedule checked 2026-10-30 |
| First Student — Dalton Dalton (Whitfield County), GA · Whitfield County · Contractor |
$21.85 | $25.20 | $500 permit (CLP) bonus within 7 days; $200 within 14 | Yes | 5 hrs/day | not stated | 2026 Permit bonus offer ends 12/31/26. | First Student posting JR14224 checked 2026-10-30 |
| Marietta City Schools Cobb County (City of Marietta), GA · Cobb County · District |
$29.09 | $41.80 | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2026-27 City school system inside Cobb County. Substitute driver rate also $29.09. | FY27 transportation salary schedule checked 2026-10-30 |
| City Schools of Decatur DeKalb County (City of Decatur), GA · DeKalb County · District |
$26.29 | $36.73 | not stated | not stated | not stated 185 days × 6 hrs | not stated | 2026-27 City school system inside DeKalb County. | FY2026-27 bus driver salary schedule checked 2026-10-30 |
| Atlanta Public Schools Fulton County (Atlanta), GA · Fulton County · District |
$25.71 | $36.26 | not stated | not stated | 6 hours/day | not stated | 2026-27 2026-27 Transportation (201) schedule, grade BD, adopted June 2026: 201 days with a 6-hour guarantee; hourly = annual pay ÷ 1,206 hours. This replaces the $18.36-$26.64 still shown on the district's careers page, which is older. | 2026-27 Transportation (201) salary schedule, grade BD (adopted June 2026) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Savannah-Chatham County Public School System Chatham County (Savannah), GA · Chatham County · District |
not published | not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2026-27 The district posting we had (part-time bench driver, $18.67-$25.62) ran Dec 2023-Jan 2024, so it is out of date. Third-party copies of the 2026-27 full-time posting (schedule 106, 198 days) disagree with each other, so no rate is shown until the district's own schedule can be read. | District job posting (part-time) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Paulding County School District Paulding County (Dallas), GA · Paulding County · District |
not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2025-26 Annual only: "Bus" column $21,788 at step 0. A posting lists up to $24.21/hr for substitute drivers (new hires start as subs). | 2025-26 transportation salary schedule (annual) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Houston County School District Houston County (Perry), GA · Houston County · District |
$22.61 | $35.45 | not stated | Yes | not stated | not stated | 2026-27 Grade 53, steps 0 to 21+. Full-time drivers work 5+ hours a day, 184 days; part-time drivers are paid differently. Paid on-site training. | FY27 classified salary schedule (bus driver, grade 53), linked from hcbe.net/salaryinformation checked 2026-10-30 |
| Muscogee County School District Muscogee County (Columbus), GA · Muscogee County · District |
$19.44 | not stated | not stated | Yes | not stated | not stated | current Trainees paid $15.00/hr during training. | Transportation careers page checked 2026-10-30 |
| Richmond County School System Richmond County (Augusta), GA · Richmond County · District |
$19.31 | $25.98 | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2026-27 Steps 1-16; drivers work 182 days. 2025-26 was $17.14-$23.07. | FY2027 salary schedule and supplement (final) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Columbia County School District Columbia County (Evans), GA · Columbia County · District |
$19.73 | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | current Minimum starting pay with no experience. | Drive Columbia County employment page checked 2026-10-30 |
| Hall County Schools Hall County (Gainesville), GA · Hall County · District |
$28.00 | $38.00 | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2026-27 Advertised as "$28+/HR – $38/HR". Routes are short, so annual pay is lower than the hourly rate suggests. | Bus Drivers page checked 2026-10-30 |
| Douglas County School System Douglas County (Douglasville), GA · Douglas County · District |
$21.46 | not stated | not stated | not stated | 5 hours/day | not stated | current At least 5 hours/day guaranteed. A FY2027 schedule reportedly lists $22.20-$28.30 (not verified). Subs $13.00/hr. (Page renders with JavaScript; figure from search snapshot and title.) | District news: Now Hiring Bus Drivers, $21.46/Hour checked 2026-10-30 |
| Coweta County School System Coweta County (Newnan), GA · Coweta County · District |
not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | current Posting gives no rate; contact Transportation Office. | District job postings (no rate) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Bibb County School District Bibb County (Macon), GA · Bibb County · District |
not published | not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | current (posting) The only rate found ($18.73/hr) came from an aggregator listing that describes a Cane Creek Middle School role (a Buncombe County, NC school), so it isn't used. An "$20.14-$25.84" figure was Buncombe's old rate. No Bibb rate confirmed. | Third-party job listing (ApplyBlast), rate not used checked 2026-10-30 |
| Fayette County Public Schools Fayette County (Fayetteville), GA · Fayette County · District |
$26.00 | $40.11 | not stated | not stated | 4.5 hours/day (daily rate basis) | not stated | 2026-27 FY2026-27 scale, 183 days: $26.00 (step 0) to $40.11 (step 16). The $117.00 daily rate at step 0 works out to a 4.5-hour paid day; annual $21,411-$33,035. | FY2027 school bus driver salary scale checked 2026-10-30 |
| Newton County Schools Newton County (Covington), GA · Newton County · District |
$21.68 | $31.73 | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2026-27 Steps 0-26. | 2026-27 bus driver and monitor salary schedule checked 2026-10-30 |
| Carroll County Schools Carroll County (Carrollton), GA · Carroll County · District |
not published | not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2023-24 Older figure, not shown as current pay: $17.61/hr in Aug 2023 (Times-Georgian). | Third-party news report (Times-Georgian, Aug 2023) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Rockdale County Public Schools Rockdale County (Conyers), GA · Rockdale County · District |
$20.76 | $27.68 | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2026-27 Steps 0 to 30+ (about $0.23 per step). Bus monitors $12.07-$18.65/hr. | 2026-27 bus driver and bus monitor salary scale checked 2026-10-30 |
| Barrow County School System Barrow County (Winder), GA · Barrow County · District |
$17.15 | $28.36 | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | current Entry-level range as stated by district. | Bus Drivers page checked 2026-10-30 |
| Walton County School District Walton County (Monroe), GA · Walton County · District |
not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | current Annual only: $24,233-$56,708, 190 days. | District SchoolSpring listings (annual) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Effingham County School District Effingham County (Springfield), GA · Effingham County · District |
not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | current Up to $110 per day; no hourly rate. | District LinkedIn post (daily rate) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Bartow County School System Bartow County (Cartersville), GA · Bartow County · District |
not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2026-27 Annual only: $26,845 (0-1 yrs) upward. No hourly rate. | Third-party copy of 2026-27 bus driver/monitor schedule (annual) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Dougherty County School System Dougherty County (Albany), GA · Dougherty County · District |
$15.48 | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2025-26 Grade 43 base on the transportation schedule; a Glassdoor listing also says $15.48 start. Low; double-check. | Third-party salary schedule aggregator (salaryschedule.org, code 75) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Glynn County Schools Glynn County (Brunswick), GA · Glynn County · District |
not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | FY25 Annual only: $18,234-$24,854, 180 days. | FY25 bus driver job description (annual) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Clarke County School District Clarke County (Athens), GA · Clarke County · District |
not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2026-27 Annual only: regular drivers $18,500-$19,400 (with fueling $20,000-$20,900). An Indeed listing shows $22.70-$31.34/hr. | 2026-27 Support Personnel Salary Schedule (annual) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Whitfield County Schools Whitfield County (Dalton), GA · Whitfield County · District |
$20.13 | not stated | not stated | Yes | not stated | not stated | current Paid training, paid summer breaks, medical benefits. | District Transportation page checked 2026-10-30 |
| Troup County School System Troup County (Lagrange), GA · Troup County · District |
not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2025-26 No bus driver rate found in the schedule text. | FY25-26 salary schedules checked 2026-10-30 |
| Bulloch County Schools Bulloch County (Statesboro), GA · Bulloch County · District |
$21.46 | $25.46 | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2026-27 180 days, 5- or 8-hour routes. $21.46 with 0 years up to $25.46 at 20+ years. | FY27 non-certified salary schedule (rev. 7/8/2026) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Lowndes County Schools Lowndes County (Valdosta), GA · Lowndes County · District |
not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | current Only salary-estimate sites found. | District Transportation page (no rate) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Liberty County School System Liberty County (Hinesville), GA · Liberty County · District |
not published | not published | not stated | Yes | not stated | not stated | 2024-25 Older figure, not shown as current pay: $18.30/hr on the district's 2024-25 fact flyer. 2026-27 postings say pay follows the salary schedule. Free CDL training. | LCSS Fact Flyer 2024-2025 checked 2026-10-30 |
| Catoosa County Public Schools Catoosa County (Ringgold), GA · Catoosa County · District |
$20.00 | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2025-26 Earlier district materials: $16.44 start, up to $20.03. | Third-party news report (NewsChannel 9, Aug 2025) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Bryan County Schools Bryan County (Pembroke), GA · Bryan County · District |
not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | current Only a 2015 figure ($14.30/hr) and estimates found. | Third-party news (2015) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Jackson County School System Jackson County (Jefferson), GA · Jackson County · District |
not published | not published | not stated | not stated | 5 hours/day | not stated | 2026-27 The 2026-27 classified schedule lists annual pay only: 5-hour drivers $18,896-$26,156, 8-hour drivers $30,233-$41,850, 180 days. The district's bus driver page says new drivers start at $19.40/hr, but that page is undated. | 2026-27 classified salary schedule (annual), linked from district salary schedules page Bus driver & monitor opportunities page checked 2026-10-30 |
| Griffin-Spalding County School System Spalding County (Griffin), GA · Spalding County · District |
$18.68 | $27.49 | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2026-27 Copy of the district's 2026-27 school bus driver hourly schedule (entry at step 3). | Third-party salary schedule aggregator (salaryschedule.org) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Camden County Schools Camden County (Kingsland), GA · Camden County · District |
not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | current Only an Indeed estimate ($16.55/hr) found. | District finance page (no rate) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Floyd County Schools Floyd County (Rome), GA · Floyd County · District |
not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | current No hourly rate found. (A search hit for "Floyd County Public Schools" 2025-26 scale was Floyd County, VA - not used.) | Third-party salary schedule aggregator checked 2026-10-30 |
| Colquitt County School District Colquitt County (Moultrie), GA · Colquitt County · District |
not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | FY25 Bus driver rate not readable; 2023: subs $35 per route. | District salary information page checked 2026-10-30 |
| Oconee County Schools Oconee County (Watkinsville), GA · Oconee County · District |
not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2026-27 Annual only: $19,639 (entry) to $33,655 (30 yrs), based on 180 days x 5 hrs (900 hrs) - about $21.82-$37.40/hr if computed; not set. | Third-party salary schedule aggregator (annual) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Walker County Schools Walker County (Lafayette), GA · Walker County · District |
not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | current Only annual payroll data found. | District Transportation page (no rate) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Valdosta City Schools Lowndes County (Valdosta), GA · Lowndes County · District |
not published | not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2024-25 Older figure, not shown as current pay: $18.39-$27.87/hr in Dec 2024 (WALB). | Third-party news report (WALB, Dec 2024) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Gainesville City School System Hall County (Gainesville), GA · Hall County · District |
not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2026-27 Annual only: $23,877-$32,136, 182 days. | Third-party salary schedule aggregator (annual) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Polk School District Polk County (Cedartown), GA · Polk County · District |
not published | not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2023 (posting) Only a 2023 posting ($19.48/hr) was found, and it could not be re-read. A FY2025 bus driver schedule exists on the district site but wasn't readable. | Third-party copy of district posting (2023) checked 2026-10-30 |
| Thomas County Schools Thomas County (Thomasville), GA · Thomas County · District |
not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | FY27 Substitute bus driver rate $25.00/hr; regular driver rate not found. | FY27 pay rates checked 2026-10-30 |
| Pickens County Schools Pickens County (Jasper), GA · Pickens County · District |
not published | not published | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2025-26 Paid by the day, not the hour: $80.75/day (0-3 years) to $98.35/day (16+ years), 182 days ($14,696 a year to start). Extra-curricular trips $15.00/hr. | FY26 salary schedules, transportation (Oct 1, 2025-Sep 30, 2026) checked 2026-10-30 |
Pay by metro area (BLS)
| Area | Drivers | Median $/hr | Bottom 10% | Top 10% |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Albany, GA | not stated | $22.42 | $7.85 | $22.42 |
| Athens-Clarke County, GA | 260 | $23.38 | $11.21 | $30.59 |
| Atlanta-Sandy Springs-Roswell, GA | 11190 | $22.75 | $10.75 | $29.84 |
| Augusta-Richmond County, GA-SC | 460 | $10.20 | $7.93 | $17.82 |
| Brunswick-St. Simons, GA | 190 | $18.91 | $8.07 | $24.08 |
| Chattanooga, TN-GA | 870 | $20.42 | $11.83 | $23.88 |
| Columbus, GA-AL | 510 | $21.61 | $8.14 | $22.18 |
| Gainesville, GA | not stated | $21.92 | $8.36 | $27.01 |
| Hinesville, GA | 60 | $23.84 | $17.31 | $23.84 |
| Macon-Bibb County, GA | not stated | $18.56 | $7.98 | $24.64 |
| Rome, GA | not stated | $22.55 | $7.99 | $26.22 |
| Savannah, GA | 370 | $13.55 | $11.11 | $22.10 |
| Valdosta, GA | 220 | $21.89 | $8.85 | $47.65 |
| Warner Robins, GA | 320 | $17.24 | $10.57 | $24.29 |
| North Georgia nonmetropolitan area | 880 | $18.53 | $8.01 | $23.75 |
| Middle Georgia nonmetropolitan area | 650 | $18.24 | $8.07 | $22.94 |
| East Georgia nonmetropolitan area | 290 | $15.72 | $8.00 | $22.77 |
| South Georgia nonmetropolitan area | 660 | $13.55 | $7.52 | $23.26 |
How to become a school bus driver in Georgia
- You need a Georgia CDL (Class A, B or C) with the S endorsement (P is also required by most districts), and you must pass the S knowledge test and the school bus skills test.
- Before driving students, new drivers complete a GaDOE-approved pre-service program of at least 24 hours (the state manual splits it into 12 classroom hours, 6 behind-the-wheel without students and 6 with students).
- First-time S or P applicants must also complete federal ELDT before the skills test.
Looking for an employer that pays while you train? See paid CDL training in Georgia.
Federal rules that apply in every state
- Since Feb 7, 2022, anyone getting a P (passenger) or S (school bus) endorsement for the first time must finish Entry-Level Driver Training (ELDT) from a provider on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry before the skills test.
- ELDT has two parts: online/classroom theory (80% passing score on the assessment) and behind-the-wheel training. S-endorsement training must use a representative school bus.
- There is no federal minimum number of hours; the provider certifies you are proficient.
- Use FMCSA's Find a Provider search, filtered to your state and "School Bus," to find a registered trainer.
Need the ELDT theory part for an upgrade or new endorsement? One option is DLA Academy's online theory courses (promo code ANDREW). Check that any provider is on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry first. Affiliate link: School Bus Pay may earn a commission if you sign up through it. Listing it isn't an endorsement of any school.
Frequently asked questions
How much do school bus drivers make in Georgia?
The BLS median for school bus drivers in Georgia is $21.61/hr ($44,950/yr), with the bottom 10% at $9.97 and the top 10% at $29.84 (OEWS May 2025). Among the 27 Georgia employers we list with a published starting rate, starting pay runs from $15.48/hr (Dougherty County School System) to $29.09/hr (Marietta City Schools).
Which Georgia district pays school bus drivers the most?
Marietta City Schools has the highest starting rate we found in Georgia, at $29.09/hr (2026-27). The highest top-of-scale rate is $41.80/hr at Marietta City Schools. Each figure links to the employer's own salary schedule or posting in the list above.
Which Georgia employers offer paid CDL training?
9 Georgia employers we list say on their own page or posting that training is paid: Gwinnett County Public Schools, Cobb County School District, Fulton County Schools, Cherokee County School District, First Student — Dalton, Houston County School District, Muscogee County School District, Whitfield County Schools, Liberty County School System. The rest don't say either way. See our paid CDL training list.
How do you become a school bus driver in Georgia?
You need a Georgia CDL (Class A, B or C) with the S endorsement (P is also required by most districts), and you must pass the S knowledge test and the school bus skills test. New P or S endorsement holders must also finish federal Entry-Level Driver Training (ELDT) first.
The Bus Lot Weekly
New raises, sign-on bonuses and paid-training offers near you, every week. Free.
Free weekly email. Unsubscribe anytime.
