Last updated · School-system scope: 208 operating public elementary and secondary school districts (NCES, 2023–24) · Table 2. Number of operating public elementary and secondary schools and districts, student membership, teachers, and pupil/teacher ratio, by state or jurisdiction: School year 2023–24
Connecticut school bus driver pay by employer
Compare official employer pay disclosures in Connecticut. Each listing identifies the employer type and keeps the source's stated rate, pay period, and caveats intact.
No statewide benchmark shown
No complete official Connecticut statewide school-bus-driver pay benchmark verified.
Employer pay sources
The first listed pay sources for Connecticut are not a complete statewide census. Each employer row keeps the pay wording and period from its own source; check the source before applying.
| Employer | Pay as stated by source | Locality and period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| First Student — Taftville | Hourly range after training completion: $23.00–$33.00/hour. Separate training hourly rate: $16.94/hour. Hourly range after training; training rate separate | New London County Posting dated September 21, 2026; range applies after training completion. Sign-on bonus offer stated as effective June 15–December 31, 2026. | School Bus Driver in Taftville, Connecticut, US - First Student |
| First Student — Westport | Hourly range after training completion: $30–$36/hour. Separate training wage: $16.94/hour. Hourly range after training; training wage separate | Fairfield County Posting dated August 18, 2026; range applies after training completion. | School Bus Driver — Westport, Connecticut, US — First Student |
| First Student — Ridgefield | Starting rate with benefits: $32.55 (unit not stated); starting rate without benefits: $36.35 (unit not stated). Separate training rate: $16.94/hour. Starting amounts have no unit stated; hourly training rate separate | Fairfield County Posting dated September 21, 2026; effective date not stated. | School Bus Driver in Ridgefield, Connecticut, US - First Student |
How the figures are collected
| Employer sources | Official employer salary schedules or recruiting pages, including public-school contractors identified by employer type; social recruitment posts are labeled and their exact post date is shown as unavailable when not exposed. |
|---|---|
| Pay period | Shown as the employer states it. “Not stated” means the cited source did not provide an effective date or year. |
| ZIP lookup | ZIP-to-county suggestions currently cover South Carolina, North Carolina, and Georgia. Search Connecticut by employer, county, or locality. |
Sources
- ✓ Official source Table 2. Number of operating public elementary and secondary schools and districts, student membership, teachers, and pupil/teacher ratio, by state or jurisdiction: School year 2023–24 · checked Nov 1, 2026
- ✓ Official source School Bus Driver in Taftville, Connecticut, US - First Student · checked Nov 1, 2026
- ✓ Official source School Bus Driver — Westport, Connecticut, US — First Student · checked Nov 1, 2026
- ✓ Official source School Bus Driver in Ridgefield, Connecticut, US - First Student · checked Nov 1, 2026
Common questions
Is the Connecticut sample complete statewide coverage?
Three location-specific First Student private school-bus contractor postings are included; they are not district payroll rates or a representative sample of Connecticut’s 208 public-school districts. Two postings state hourly ranges after training; the Ridgefield posting gives two starting amounts without units.
Are employer hourly rates and BLS annual wages directly comparable?
No. Employer rates are shown as the cited source states them. Statewide OEWS annual estimates are context and are not a promised district route schedule.
Why might a source have no pay year?
Some recruiting pages display a rate without an effective date. The page labels that limitation and shows when the source was checked.
All employer pay listings · Side-by-side comparison · Split-shift calculator
