Last updated · School-system scope: 852 public school districts (ISBE-stated count; reference year not stated) · Regional, District & School Leadership

Illinois school bus driver pay by employer

Compare official employer pay disclosures in Illinois. Each listing identifies the employer type and keeps the source's stated rate, pay period, and caveats intact.

Coverage: One sourced employer is an incomplete starter sample; not complete statewide coverage. The school-system scope count is context, not a count of bus-driver employers. Pay listings are a sourced sample, not a ranking of every employer in the state.

No statewide benchmark shown

No official statewide school-bus-driver wage estimate was verified for Illinois; no third-party estimate was substituted.

Compare employersEstimate gross route earnings

Employer pay sources

The first listed pay sources for Illinois are not a complete statewide census. Each employer row keeps the pay wording and period from its own source; check the source before applying.

Employer-stated school bus driver pay in Illinois
EmployerPay as stated by sourceLocality and periodSource
East Moline School District 37For the 2026-2027 school year, starting salary when a CDL is held is $20.81.
Starting hourly pay with CDL
Rock Island County
2026–2027 school year; posted July 10, 2026.
East Moline School District 37 - Frontline Recruitment

How the figures are collected

Employer sourcesOfficial employer salary schedules or recruiting pages, including public-school contractors identified by employer type; social recruitment posts are labeled and their exact post date is shown as unavailable when not exposed.
Pay periodShown as the employer states it. “Not stated” means the cited source did not provide an effective date or year.
ZIP lookupZIP-to-county suggestions currently cover South Carolina, North Carolina, and Georgia. Search Illinois by employer, county, or locality.

Sources

Common questions

Is the Illinois sample complete statewide coverage?

One sourced employer is an incomplete starter sample; not complete statewide coverage. The school-system scope count is context, not a count of bus-driver employers.

Are employer hourly rates and BLS annual wages directly comparable?

No. Employer rates are shown as the cited source states them. Statewide OEWS annual estimates are context and are not a promised district route schedule.

Why might a source have no pay year?

Some recruiting pages display a rate without an effective date. The page labels that limitation and shows when the source was checked.